32 Auckland players to attend NZ U17 camps

20 Dec 2011

Sorry you're not able to view this feature without Flash, you will need Flash 8 or better to view this content

You can download this here

Young Auckland players get a chance to learn from the best

Young Auckland rugby players will have the opportunity to train with the best after being selected for the 2012 New Zealand Under-17 development camps.

32 Auckland players are among 100 selected nation-wide that will attend the camps next July.

Blues High Performance Manager Nick Sheppard said players were selected off the back of their performance at the Blues franchise Under-16 tournament held in October.

“It’s a great achievement to see the number of players that have been selected for this camp. It reflects well on the hard work they have put in this year.”

The Blues franchise Under-16 tournament was held for the first time this year and Sheppard said the number of players selected from the event proves that the union is succeeding in expanding the talent pool in Auckland.

Some of the players heading to the national camps got a small taste of what they will be in for when they attened the Auckland Under-16 Elite Development Camp on Saturday. Players took part in fitness testing and gym training techniques then were in the classroom to learn about individual performance plans and Auckland Rugby history.


The players selected for the New Zealand Under-17 development camps are:

Michael Tamoaieta, Liam Polwart, Sake Peni-Latu, Matthew Foote (Sacred Heart College), Cameron Hall, Joshua Goodhue, Jack Goodhue, Ethan Thompson (Mt Albert Grammar School), Michael Williams, Mitchell Karpik, Mickey Bateman, Connor Brooke-Cowden, Chad Crossley (King’s College), Marco Fepulea’i, Akira Ioane, Harry Fitzsimons, William Talataina-Mu, Shawn Hicks (Auckland Grammar School), Lonetona Toailoa Isara, Michael Sele, Samson Fualalo, Nathaniel Apa (Kelston Boys’ High School), Failesa’o (John) Afoa (Otahuhu College), Raymond Tatafu (Onehunga High School), Jamie Lane (Howick College), Cody Wheeler, Dillon Wihongi, William Raea, T J Faiane, Jonathan Faauli (St Kentigern College), Vince Aso, Simone Lolohea (St Peters College)



Who will win the Gallaher Shield?