32-man wider training squad named

29 Jul 2013

Sorry you're not able to view this feature without Flash, you will need Flash 8 or better to view this content

You can download this here

Auckland ITM Cup coach Wayne Pivac has named a 32-man wider squad, three weeks out from the start of the ITM Cup.

Pivac said the group will train this week ahead of the first pre-season match against Northland on Sunday. Those players involved in Saturday’s Gallaher Shield final will not play in that match.

Of the 32 players named, 15 have Super Rugby experience and a further six have played ITM Cup.

A number of young players join the squad, including Vince Aso and So’otala Fa’aso’o who were both members of the 2012 New Zealand Secondary Schools team.

Charlie Faumuina, Keven Mealamu, Steven Luatua, Piri Weepu and Charles Piutau were today named in the All Black training camp for the upcoming Rugby Championship so have not been included in this group.

Four backs from the 2012 campaign have not been selected due to injury; Gareth Anscombe (shoulder), Ben Lam (foot), Albert Nikoro (knee) and Dave Thomas (shoulder) are all expected to miss the ITM Cup season.

Pivac said the final squad of 28 players will be announced early next week ahead of a team camp, and the final pre-season hit out against Hawke’s Bay.

Auckland ITM Cup Wider Squad

Tom McCartney (Pakuranga)
Gafatasi Su’a (Ponsonby)
Nathan Vella (Grammar Carlton)

Pauliasi Manu (University)
Sam Prattley (Pakuranga)
Angus Ta’avao (Marist) - pictured
Ofa Tu’ungafasi (Grammar Carlton)

Liaki Moli (Manukau Rovers)
Patrick Tuipulotu (Ponsonby)
William Lloyd (Marist)
Jack Whetton (Grammar Carlton)

Joe Edwards (Pakuranga)
Sean Brookman (University)
Chris Vui (Waitemata) 
Luke Braid (University)
Sean Polwart (University)
Kara Pryor (Grammar Carlton)

Number 8:
Peter Saili (Marist)
So’otala Fa’aso’o (Grammar Carlton)

Junior Poluleilugaga (Papatoetoe)
Wayne Ngaluafe (Ponsonby)

First Five-eighths:
Simon Hickey (Grammar Carlton)
Orene Ai’i (College Rifles)
Calvary Fonoti (Manukau Rovers)

Hadleigh Parkes (Grammar Carlton)
Malakai Fekitoa (Pakuranga)
Vince Aso (Ponsonby)

George Moala (Grammar Carlton)
Tenina Sauileoge (Papatoetoe)
Saleaula Silipa (Pakuranga)

Lolagi Visinia (Suburbs)
Leroy Van Dam (Marist)


Who will win the Gallaher Shield?