Auckland team named for must-win encounter against Taranaki

Auckland coach Nick White has named his side for their last round robin match of 2016.

An injury to Liaki Moli has seen a reshuffle in the loose forwards, while Leon Fukoufuka starts at halfback.

Moli joins fellow loose forwards Blake Gibson, Taleni Seu and Joe Edwards in the injury ward, which sees Josh Kaifa claim the number seven jersey for his second start of the season.

Fukofuka’s promotion to starting halfback is the only change in the backline.

Auckland travel to new Plymouth for a must-win encounter against Taranaki. A victory would ensure a semi-final position, while a loss would mean the team’s fate would be dependent on other results.

Auckland face Taranaki at Yarrow Stadium on Thursday (kick off 7.35pm)

1.    Sam Prattley (Pakuranga)
2.    Kurt Eklund (University)
3.    Marcel Renata (University)
4.    Scott Scrafton (Grammar TEC)
5.    Michael Fatialofa (Ponsonby)
6.    Steven Luatua (University)
7.    Josh Kaifa (Manukau Rovers)
8.    Akira Ioane (Ponsonby)
9.    Leon Fukofuka (Marist)
10.    Simon Hickey (Grammar TEC)
11.    Pryor Collier (Ponsonby)
12.    Vince Aso (Ponsonby)
13.    Rieko Ioane (Ponsonby)
14.    Lolagi Visinia (Suburbs)
15.    Melani Nanai (Manukau Rovers)

16.    Blake Hill (Eden)
17.    Tom McHugh (Grammar TEC)
18.    Isi Tu’ungafasi (Grammar TEC)
19.    Ben Nee Nee (Pakuranga)
20.    Sinclair Dominikovich-Murray (University)
21.    Jono Hickey (Grammar TEC)
22.    Liam Steel (University)
23.    Latiume Fosita (Papatoetoe)

Latest News