Successful season for Auckland Samoa

The annual Auckland Samoa Rugby Union competition was again a major success with 14 teams participating in its 22nd season. 

This is very much a marquee event on the Auckland Samoa rugby calendar and one that brings the community together and fosters positive community and rugby outcomes. 

The winner of this year’s competition was the Lauli’i Lions, who defeated Laumua o Tumua in the final. 

Following the conclusion of the 15s format, a one-day sevens competition was held a week later, which was also a very successful event.  

Auckland Samoa women’s teams participated in the NZR Pacific Aotearoa Cup XVs in March and the PAC Sevens tournament in November. 

Fiao’o Fa’amausili (c), Aldora Itunu, Linda Itunu (Storm), Victoria Subritzky-Nafatali and Aotearoa ‘Katie’ Mata’u (Heat) were selected in the Black Ferns’ Women’s Rugby World Cup squad. 

To celebrate its successes, Auckland Samoa held an awards evening on November 11. 

The union extends grateful thanks to partners and stakeholders, the Auckland Rugby Union, the Auckland Rugby Referees’ Association, the Auckland City Council parks team and Physio Rehab Group. 



Youth player of the year: Sanele William (Laumua)

Best playing uniform: Iva Rugby Club

Delegate of the year: Vaivai Live Luatua (Sale’imoa)

Volunteer of the year: Tapua'i Siaosi Tekene

Most improved team: Laumua o Tumua

Team manager of the year: Apia Maroons

Captain of the year: Tupa’i I’a Popoa (Lauli’i)

Coach of the year: Laufili Apineru Tavita (Lauli’i)

Referee of the year: Rob Harman

Sevens player of the year: Desma Liaina (Lauli’i)

Player of the year: Jeremiah Fa’aumuumu (Laumua) 

Team of the year: Lauli’i Lions


Women’s awards:

Player of the year: Seiuli Fiao’o Fa’amausili

Junior player of the year: Utu Atonio

Latest News